Meet our Eating Disorder Specialists

The Emily Program – Cleveland’s eating disorder specialists are committed to working together to provide our patients with the most up-to-date eating disorder treatment programs. 

Schedule your eating disorder assessment today.


Our patients often come to us in critical need. That’s why we look at treating them with a team of highly skilled clinicians who understands their individual needs.

Our team of diverse eating disorder specialists is made up of physicians, psychiatrists, psychologists, dietitians, counselors, nurse practitioners and social workers. They are bonded together with passion, dedication and a commitment to educating patients and families, while providing the care and solutions that address the whole person.

(L to R) Mark Warren, MD, Lucene Wisniewski, PhD, Dirk Miller, PhD,   and Jillian Lampert

We are led by The Emily Program Founder and CEO Dirk Miller, Ph.D., L.P. and a team of world-renowned professionals, including Lucene Wisniewski, Ph.D., Mark Warren, M.D., Jillian Lampert, Ph.D., M.P.H., R.D., L.D., F.A.E.D., Scott Crow, M.D., Carol Peterson, Psy.D., L.P. and others who are nationally known researchers, lecturers and eating disorder experts. Our staff has earned some of the highest awards in the industry and continually demonstrate that they are on the cutting edge of research and implementing effective solutions for those with eating disorders. Meet The Emily Program – Cleveland staff below.

Eating Disorder Specialists

Mark Warren, MD, MPH, FAED, Medical Director

CCED-MarkHeadshot-resized-600Mark Warren, M.D., is the medical director of The Emily Program. From 2006-2014, he served as medical director and co-founder of the Cleveland Center for Eating Disorders, a comprehensive eating disorder treatment program.

He graduated from the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and completed his residency at Harvard Medical School. His practice focuses on bringing the most up-to-date research into evidence-based care.

He serves on the faculty of Case Western Reserve School of Medicine and teaches at University Hospitals of Cleveland and The Cleveland Clinic Foundation. Dr. Warren is a Distinguished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association and a Fellow of the Academy of Eating Disorders, where he leads the SIG in Males and Eating Disorders. He is a two-time recipient of the Exemplary Psychiatrist Award of the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill and a winner of the Woodruff Award.

Dr. Warren co-chairs the Academy of Eating Disorders Presidential Task Force for Medical Care and serves on the FEAST Medical Advisory Board and the London-based Succeed Foundation Medical Advisory Board. He has presented extensively at the International Conference on Eating Disorders, The Renfrew Foundation and the Multidisciplinary Eating Disorder Association.

Lucene Wisniewski, PhD, FAED, Chief Clinical Officer

CCED-LuceneHeadshot-resized-600Lucene Wisniewski, PhD, FAED  is chief clinical officer of The Emily Program and is an adjunct assistant professor of psychological sciences at Case Western Reserve University.  From 2006-2014, she served as clinical director and co-founder of the Cleveland Center for Eating Disorders, a comprehensive eating disorder treatment program.

Her research and clinical interests include using empirically founded treatments to inform clinical programs.  She provides workshops on the CBT and DBT treatment of eating disorders internationally and publishes in peer reviewed journals, as well as invited book chapters.

Dr. Wisniewski has been elected fellow and has served on the board of directors and as the co-chair of the Borderline Personality Disorder special interest group of the Academy for Eating Disorders (AED).  In 2013, the AED awarded Dr. Wisniewski the Outstanding Clinician Award to acknowledge her contribution to the field of eating disorder treatment.

Jean Doak, PhD, Site Director
Kelly Bhatnagar, PhD, Site Director
Katie Dent, Community Outreach Specialist
Donna Susnjara, CPC, Director of Financial Services

Karen Kristy, APRN, BC, Intake and Assessment Coordinator
Joanna Hardis, LISW-S, Intake and Assessment Coordinator

Stephanie MacDonald, LISW-S, Program Manager
Brittany Davis, PCC-S, Program Manager
Dean Malec, PCC, Program Manager
Melinda Waggoner, LISW-S, Program Manager
Sarah Emerman, PCC, Program Manager

Victoria Patrello, LSW, Program Coordinator
Stephanie Kinch, PC, Program Coordinator
Stephanie Liggett, LISW, Program Coordinator
Caitlin Martin, MA, Program and Research Coordinator

Jaina Amin, MD, BSN, Staff Psychiatrist

Adena Zlochower, PhD, Clinical Psychologist
Jill Matusek, PhD, Clinical Psychologist
April Sobieralski, PsyD, Clinical Psychologist
Susan Clark, PCC-ATR, BC, Therapist
Sarah Dietrich, MSSA, LISW, Therapist
Ellen R. Hoffman, PCC, Therapist
Amy Luzar, LISW-S, Therapist
Amy Kalasunas, PCC-S, NCC, Therapist
Cynthia Girard, LISW, Therapist
Samantha Mishne, LISW-S, LICDC, Therapist

Christina Scalese, RD, LD, Registered Dietitian
Julie Lipowski, RD, LD, Registered Dietitian
Stacie Hutner, RD, LD, Registered Dietitian

Pam Bertaud, PC-ATR, Clinical Support Staff
Darla Crow, Clinical Support Staff
Kayla Meckley, Clinical Support Staff
Caitlin Urdiales, Clinical Support Staff

Michelle Voll, Business Office Coordinator

Kathie Kintz, Insurance Account Representative
Rachel Durst, Client Account Representative

Jessica Schmieler, Administrative Staff
Anna Ronis, Administrative Staff
Kara Schellenberg, Administrative Staff
Kisha Wagner, Administrative Staff